Graduate Students

People

Image credit:
Elena Zhukova

NAME

CONTACT

SPECIAL INTERESTS

Laika Abdulali

laikaabdulali@berkeley.edu Philosophy, history and public law
Haley Anderson hsanderson@berkeley.edu legal philosophy, political theory, international law, state sovereignty, atrocity crimes, civil procedure, sovereign immunity
Nandina Babic nandinababic@berkeley.edu punishment, surveillance and technology, the carceral state, political science, sociology
Michael Banerjee michael_banerjee@berkeley.edu American legal history, university legal history, constitutions, corporations, nineteenth century, western history, state constitutional law, local government law, property law
Renata Barreto-Montenegro rbarreto@berkeley.edu
Eduardo Bautista Duran ebautista@berkeley.edu Police history, police power, critical race studies, settler colonialism, racial capitalism, political economy of punishment
Sean Becker seanlouisbecker@berkeley.edu
Gabriel Beringer gberinger@berkeley.edu
Raj Bhargava rajbhargava@berkeley.edu
Shikha Bhattacharjee shikhasb@berkeley.edu migration, supply chains, and gender, caste, and race in the global economy
Griffin Brunk gabrunk@berkeley.edu American Legal History, Criminal Law, Fourth Amendment, Race & Law, Critical Theory, Ottoman History, and Islamic Law.
Matthew Cannon mcannon@berkeley.edu intellectual property; social movements & law; civil procedure
Anthony Carrasco anthonycarrasco@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Cherry bonniecherry@berkeley.edu Tribal sovereignty/Federal Indian Law, IR/critical security studies, civil religion
Jorge Cortes-Monroy jorgecortesmonroy@berkeley.edu History of Legal Thought, Jurisprudence, Social Theory, Political Theory, and Theory of Recognition
William Darwall wdarwall@berkeley.edu political, legal, and social philosophy, political economy, work law, digitality
Kyle DeLand delandks@berkeley.edu American Legal History, California History, Settler Colonialism, Property Law, Religion and Law, History of Capitalism, Environmental History.
Sarah DiMagno sdimagno@berkeley.edu health, welfare, and labor law and policy
Yan Fang yfang@berkeley.edu sociology of law; law, technology, and organizations; privacy law; consumer law
Brianne Felsher brianne_felsher@berkeley.edu US legal history, queer history, history of family law, queer family law, LGBT rights, nineteenth century US legal history, history of queer marriage
Taylor Fox taylorfox@berkeley.edu
Rubi Gonzales rmgonzales@berkeley.edu Critical Race Theory, Law & Psychology, Race, Ethnicity, Diversity, Belonging, Race & Public Policy, Sociology, History
Rafael Grillo-Avila rafael_grilloavila@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law, Law & Economics, Natural Resource Management, Law & Organizations, and Mixed Methods
Valeria L. Guerrero vlguerre@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law, Critical Theory, social movements, crime and punishment
Kyneshawau Hurd kyneshawau@berkeley.edu
Kavitha Iyengar kiyengar@berkeley.edu 19th Century Southern Legal History, Welfare and Work, and Associational Governance
Cheri Kruse cherikruse@berkeley.edu Reproductive justice, especially where it intersects with environmental, racial, immigration, and education justice.
Karalyn Lacey karalyn.a.lacey@berkeley.edu
Nikila Lakshmanan nikila.lakshmanan@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law; Critical theory; Feminist legal theory; Race & Law
Yen-Tung Lin ytl@berkeley.edu sociology of law, human rights, solitary confinement
Margot Lipin margotlipin@berkeley.edu Nineteenth century American socio-legal history, law and violence, crime and punishment, and Reconstruction
Lawrence Liu ljliu@berkeley.edu regulatory politics, law and globalization, legal profession, contemporary Chinese law and politics
Alex Mabanta alex.mabanta@berkeley.edu
Constitutional Law, Race & Law, Public Law & Jurisprudence, Race and Ethnic Politics, Political Sociology
Ralph Madlalate rmadlalate@berkeley.edu
Isabella Mariani isabella.mariani@berkeley.edu political economy, health law and policy, migration theory, social theory, and democratic theory
Mitzia E. Martinez Castellanos mitziam@berkeley.edu Immigration, Citizenship, Legal Consciousness, Legal Violence, Law & Identity
Melissa McCall mmccall@berkeley.edu
Brie McLemore brie.mclemore@berkeley.edu Surveillance Studies, Policing, Black Feminist Theory, Urban Studies, Privacy Law, Sociology of Law, Science and Technology Studies
Dorna Mohaghegh dmohaghegh@berkeley.edu Law and politics, legal and democratic theory, public law, public opinion
Todd Neece toddtneece@berkeley.edu access to justice, social movements, legal scholarship
Lucas Osborne lucas_osborne@berkeley.edu Political economy, critical theory, political theory, philosophy and methodology of the social sciences, American and European histories of social science, science and technology studies, ecological thought, the administrative state, neoliberalism, and advanced forms of capitalism
Yael Plitmann yaelplitmann@berkeley.edu
Peyton Provenzano peytonprov@berkeley.edu
Laura Ramírez lauraram@berkeley.edu Legal History, property, international law, natural law, political economy
Diana Reddy dsreddy@berkeley.edu regulation of work, inequality, economic and legal consciousness, legal mobilization, political economy, social movements
Celina Romano celina_romano@berkeley.edu psychology of bias, anti-discrimination, diversity and inclusion, diversity resistance, perceptions of diversity
Nina Russell ninarussell@berkeley.edu U.S. corporate law; national security; political economy
Zabdi Salazar zsalazar2019@berkeley.edu Immigration Law, Refugee Law and Policy, Administrative Law, Public Law, Sociology of Law
Doug Sangster doug.sangster@berkeley.edu Legal history, health law, disability law
Joel Sati sati@berkeley.edu Philosophy of Law, Criminal Law, Immigration Law, Social and Political Philosophy, Social Epistemology, Philosophy of Race
Daimeon Shanks daimeon_shanks@berkeley.edu Legal history, jurisprudence and critical legal studies, and political theory
Meredith Spoto mspoto@berkeley.edu
Chloe Tan chloetan@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law, Organizations, Critical Theory, Feminist Legal Theory, Social Movements, Citizenship
Rachel Terrell-Perica racheltp@berkeley.edu
Cristina Violante cviolante@berkeley.edu Legal and Environmental History, Hermeneutics and Legal Interpretation, Social Theory, Postcolonial Theory
Reid Whitaker whitaker@berkeley.edu
Pauline White Meeusen paulinewm@berkeley.edu Law and Social Movements; Legal Mobilization; Immigration Law and Policy; Legal Profession; Gender, Race, and Class and Immigration
Naomi Yitref naomiyitref@berkeley.edu
Dvir Yogev dyo@berkeley.edu Politics of Crime and Justice, Political Behavior and Psychology, Experimental Methods, Law and Public Opinion
Anna Zaret annazaret@berkeley.edu health law and policy, political theory and political economy, policing and public health