Graduate Students

People

Image credit:
Elena Zhukova

NAME

CONTACT

SPECIAL INTERESTS

Laika Abdulali

laikaabdulali@berkeley.edu Philosophy, history and public law
Haley Anderson hsanderson@berkeley.edu
philosophy and political theory, international law, civil procedure, state sovereignty, sovereign immunity, atrocity crimes
Nandina Babic nandinababic@berkeley.edu punishment, surveillance and technology, the carceral state, political science, sociology
Michael Banerjee michael_banerjee@berkeley.edu
American legal history, state, university, corporations, nineteenth century, western history, property law, local government law, state constitutional law
Renata Barreto-Montenegro rbarreto@berkeley.edu
Eduardo Bautista Duran ebautista@berkeley.edu Police history, police power, critical race studies, settler colonialism, racial capitalism, political economy of punishment
Sean Becker seanlouisbecker@berkeley.edu
Sage Luna sageluna@berkeley.edu 

20th Century Psychological Science and Conceptions of Culpability in Criminal Law

Raj Bhargava rajbhargava@berkeley.edu
Shikha Bhattacharjee shikhasb@berkeley.edu migration, supply chains, and gender, caste, and race in the global economy
Griffin Brunk gabrunk@berkeley.edu American Legal History, Criminal Law, Fourth Amendment, Race & Law, Critical Theory, Ottoman History, and Islamic Law.
Matthew Cannon mcannon@berkeley.edu intellectual property; social movements & law; civil procedure
Anthony Carrasco anthonycarrasco@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Cherry bonniecherry@berkeley.edu Tribal sovereignty/Federal Indian Law, IR/critical security studies, civil religion
Jorge Cortes-Monroy jorgecortesmonroy@berkeley.edu Criminal Law and Procedure, Comparative Criminal Procedure, Administrative Law, Jurisprudence, Law and Social Theory, Political Theory.
William Darwall wdarwall@berkeley.edu political, legal, and social philosophy, political economy, work law, digitality
Sarah DiMagno sdimagno@berkeley.edu health, welfare, and labor law and policy
Yan Fang yfang@berkeley.edu Law, Technology, and Society; Privacy Law; Evidence; Litigation;
Consumer Law; Sociology of Law
Brianne Felsher brianne_felsher@berkeley.edu US legal history, queer history, history of family law, queer family law, LGBT rights, nineteenth century US legal history, history of queer marriage
Taylor Fox taylorfox@berkeley.edu
international law, evidence, human rights, emerging technologies, atrocity crimes, sexual and gender based violence
Rubi Gonzales rmgonzales@berkeley.edu Critical Race Theory, Law & Psychology, Race, Ethnicity, Diversity, Belonging, Race & Public Policy, Sociology, History
Rafael Grillo-Avila rafael_grilloavila@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law, Law & Economics, Natural Resource Management, Law & Organizations, and Mixed Methods
Valeria L. Guerrero vlguerre@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law, Critical Theory, social movements, crime and punishment
Kyneshawau Hurd kyneshawau@berkeley.edu
Kavitha Iyengar kiyengar@berkeley.edu 19th Century Southern Legal History, Welfare and Work, and Associational Governance
Cheri Kruse cherikruse@berkeley.edu Reproductive justice, especially where it intersects with environmental, racial, immigration, and education justice.
Nikila Lakshmanan nikila.lakshmanan@berkeley.edu Sociology of Law; Critical theory; Feminist legal theory; Race & Law
Yen-Tung Lin ytl@berkeley.edu sociology of law, human rights, solitary confinement
Margot Lipin margotlipin@berkeley.edu Nineteenth century American socio-legal history, law and violence, crime and punishment, and Reconstruction
Lawrence Liu ljliu@berkeley.edu regulatory politics, law and globalization, legal profession, contemporary Chinese law and politics
Alex Mabanta alex.mabanta@berkeley.edu
Constitutional Law, Race & Law, Public Law & Jurisprudence, Race and Ethnic Politics, Political Sociology
Ralph Madlalate rmadlalate@berkeley.edu
Isabella Luisa Mariani isabella.mariani@berkeley.edu Law and Political Economy, Political Theory, Immigration Law and Migration Theory, Technology Law and Regulation
Mitzia E. Martinez Castellanos mitziam@berkeley.edu Immigration, Citizenship, Legal Consciousness, Legal Violence, Law & Identity
Melissa McCall mmccall@berkeley.edu
Brie McLemore brie.mclemore@berkeley.edu Surveillance Studies, Policing, Black Feminist Theory, Urban Studies, Privacy Law, Sociology of Law, Science and Technology Studies
Dorna Mohaghegh dmohaghegh@berkeley.edu Law and politics, legal and democratic theory, public law, public opinion
Todd Neece toddtneece@berkeley.edu access to justice, social movements, legal scholarship
Lucas Osborne lucas_osborne@berkeley.edu Political economy, critical theory, political theory, philosophy and methodology of the social sciences, American and European histories of social science, science and technology studies, ecological thought, the administrative state, neoliberalism, and advanced forms of capitalism
Yael Plitmann yaelplitmann@berkeley.edu
Peyton Provenzano peytonprov@berkeley.edu
Laura Ramírez lauraram@berkeley.edu Legal History, property, international law, natural law, political economy
Celina Romano celina_romano@berkeley.edu psychology of bias, anti-discrimination, diversity and inclusion, diversity resistance, perceptions of diversity
Nina Russell ninarussell@berkeley.edu U.S. corporate law; national security; political economy
Zabdi Salazar zsalazar2019@berkeley.edu Immigration Law, Refugee Law and Policy, Administrative Law, Public Law, Sociology of Law
Doug Sangster doug.sangster@berkeley.edu Legal history, health law, disability law
Joel Sati sati@berkeley.edu Philosophy of Law, Criminal Law, Immigration Law, Social and Political Philosophy, Social Epistemology, Philosophy of Race
Daimeon Shanks daimeon_shanks@berkeley.edu Legal history, critical legal theory, political theory, energy law, admin law, federal Indian law, international law
Sid Schlafman sschlafman@berkeley.edu twentieth century queer history, social control, deviance, rights, social construction of identity, social construction of crime
Meredith Spoto mspoto@berkeley.edu
Rachel Terrell-Perica racheltp@berkeley.edu
Cristina Violante cviolante@berkeley.edu Legal and Environmental History, Hermeneutics and Legal Interpretation, Social Theory, Postcolonial Theory
Reid Whitaker whitaker@berkeley.edu
Pauline White Meeusen paulinewm@berkeley.edu Law and Social Movements; Legal Mobilization; Immigration Law and Policy; Legal Profession; Gender, Race, and Class and Immigration
Naomi Yitref naomiyitref@berkeley.edu
Dvir Yogev dyo@berkeley.edu Politics of Crime and Justice, Political Behavior and Psychology, Experimental Methods, Law and Public Opinion
Anna Zaret annazaret@berkeley.edu health law and policy, political theory and political economy, policing and public health