History Book of the Year

June 1, 2021

Professor Christopher Tomlins received the Francis Parkman Prize from the Society of American Historians, given annually to a nonfiction work of history, for In the Matter of Nat Turner. Called “a master class in the craft of history,” the book delves into Turner’s life and the tragic 1831 slave rebellion he led in Virginia. Read a September 2020 Q&A with Tomlins about his research on Turner here