Faculty

People

Image credit:
Elena Zhukova

NAME

CONTACT

SPECIAL INTERESTS

Catherine Albiston

calbiston@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-0493

Sociology of LawPh.D., Jurisprudence and Social Policy, J.D., UC Berkeley social movements, gender, employment law, legal profession, public interest law

Robert Cooter

rcooter@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-255-0314

Law and Economics - Ph.D., Economics, Harvard University business law, contracts, torts

Lauren Edelman

ledelman@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-8298

Sociology of LawPh.D., Sociology, Stanford University; J.D., UC Berkeley organizations and employment, civil rights, social inequality, research methods

Rebecca Goldstein

rgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Law and Political Science – Ph.D., Political Science, Harvard University criminal justice policy, race and the law, bureaucratic politics, research methods

David Grewal

david.grewal@berkeley.edu

Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory/Law and Political Science -
Ph.D., Political Science, Harvard University; J.D., Yale University
history of political thought, political economy, intellectual property law and biotech

Kinch Hoekstra

khoekstra@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-0680

Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory - D.Phil., Philosophy, Oxford University
history of moral, political, and legal philosophy, especially ancient, renaissance, and early modern political philosophy

Christopher Kutz

ckutz@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-6053

Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory -
Ph.D., Philosophy, UC Berkeley; J.D., Yale University
moral, political, and legal philosophy, criminal law, international law

Taeku Lee

taekulee@berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-9532

Law and Political Science - Ph.D., Political Science, University of Chicago race and ethnic politics, research methods

David Lieberman

dlieberman@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-2667 

Law and History - Ph.D., History, London University history of legal ideas, legal theory

Calvin Morrill

cmorrill@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-9988

Sociology of Law - Ph.D., Sociology, Harvard University
organizations, culture, social movements, social inequality, education, research methods

Osagie Obasogie

obasogie@berkeley.edu

Sociology of Law - Ph.D., Sociology, UC Berkeley; JD, Columbia University bioethics, policing and police use of force, race in law and medicine, constitutional law

Dylan Penningroth

dcap@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-664-4985

Law and History - Ph.D., History, Johns Hopkins University African American and U.S. socio-legal history

Victoria Plaut

vplaut@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-2523

Law and Psychology - Ph.D., Psychology, Stanford University diversity/inclusion, culture, organizational and legal design, research methods

Jonathan Simon

jsimon@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-5169

Sociology of Law/Punishment and Society -
Ph.D., Jurisprudence and Social Policy, J.D., UC Berkeley
criminal law, mass incarceration, risk and law, history of the interdisciplinary study of law

Sarah Song

ssong@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-643-5637

Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory - Ph.D., Political Science, Yale University political theory, citizenship, migration, feminist theory

Rachel Stern

rstern@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-2008

Law and Political Science - Ph.D., Political Science, UC Berkeley courts, authoritarian states, globalization, China

Christopher Tomlins

ctomlins@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-9049

Law and History - Ph.D., History, Johns Hopkins University labor, slavery, colonization, history of contemporary legal thought

Franklin Zimring

fzimring@law.berkeley.edu

Tel: 510-642-0854 

Criminal Law – J.D., University of Chicago legal policy, criminal sanctions, policing