Chris Tomlins was named co-winner of the Harry J. Kalven, Jr. Prize

July 6, 2023

Chris Tomlins was named co-winner (with Michael McCann, of the University of Washington) of the Harry J. Kalven, Jr. Prize of the Law and Society Association.  The Kalven Prize (according to the LSA) is “not a book award, nor is it a career achievement award, but is given in recognition of a body of scholarly work, including some portion of work having been completed within the past few years.” Previous Berkeley Law (JSP) winners of the Kalven Award include Philip Selznick (2003), Bob Kagan (2006), Frank Zimring (2013), Malcolm Feeley (2015), and Laurie Edelman (2018). 

Here's a picture the Chris receiving his award at the LSA Annual Meeting in Puerto Rico, in a room packed with admirers:  

Laura Beth Nielson and Chris Tomlins on stage at LSA for the award ceremony.

It felt particularly fitting to have the award conferred by Berkeley Law double-alumna Laura Beth Nielson (PhD ’99, JD ‘96), in her capacity as LSA President.